Visible People.

7/12/2011

 
Gulu, Uganda has been my home this summer. Last year was my first time in this war-torn region of Northern Uganda, and I was a bit nervous and unsure of my surroundings. Not this time. I taught a filmmaking workshop along with the wonderful Shola Ajayi, who is a collegue of mine from Film School. We worked with the non-profit organization THARCE-Gulu, to put together this arts empowerment workshop, and really wanted to help create some positive images of Gulu through social media and filmmaking. Our students were between the ages of 20-30 years old and were awesome.  Eliza Dushku and Rick Fox also work with THARCE-Gulu and brought us amazing laptops donated by HP. 

All in all, it was one of the best trips of my life. I can't wait to go back.

Here is one of their projects: http://vimeo.com/26091869


Comments are closed.